How Far Is the Kitchen Line From the Net in Pickleball


How Far Is the Kitchen Line From the Net in Pickleball?

Pickleball is a fast-growing sport that combines elements of tennis, badminton, and table tennis. One of the unique aspects of pickleball is the presence of a “kitchen,” also known as the non-volley zone. The kitchen is a designated area on the court where players are not allowed to volley the ball. One common question that arises among pickleball players is: How far is the kitchen line from the net? In this article, we will explore the answer to this question and provide answers to 14 other common pickleball inquiries.

The kitchen line in pickleball is located 7 feet from the net on both sides of the court. This line serves as a boundary that players must respect to avoid committing a fault. When a player is in the kitchen, they are not allowed to hit the ball out of the air before it bounces. This rule encourages players to have a more strategic approach to the game, promoting longer rallies and skillful shot placement.

Now, let’s address some common questions related to the kitchen line in pickleball:

1. Why is it called the kitchen?
The term “kitchen” originates from the concept of a non-volley zone in shuffleboard, where players would prepare food during breaks. The term carried over to pickleball due to the similarity in the designated area’s purpose.

See also  During a Basketball Game How Many Players on Each Team Must Be on the Court?

2. Can I stand in the kitchen while waiting for the ball to bounce?
Yes, you can stand in the kitchen while waiting for the ball to bounce. However, once the ball bounces, you must exit the kitchen before hitting it.

3. Can I reach over the kitchen line to hit the ball?
No, you cannot reach over the kitchen line to hit the ball. Your feet must be completely behind the line to make a legal shot.

4. Can I step on the kitchen line while hitting the ball?
No, you cannot step on the kitchen line while hitting the ball. Your feet must be behind the line for your shot to be considered legal.

5. Can I hit the ball in the air if I am outside the kitchen?
Yes, you can hit the ball in the air if you are positioned outside the kitchen. The no volley rule only applies to shots made within the kitchen area.

6. Are there any exceptions to the no volley rule?
Yes, there is an exception to the no volley rule. If the ball bounces in the kitchen, you are allowed to volley it as long as you have both feet outside the kitchen area.

See also  A Brinkmanship Crisis Resembles Which Type of Game (From Game Theory)?

7. Can I hit a ball that has bounced in the kitchen?
Yes, you can hit a ball that has bounced in the kitchen. Once the ball has bounced, the no volley rule no longer applies.

8. Can I return a ball that has hit the kitchen line?
Yes, you can return a ball that has hit the kitchen line. The kitchen line is considered part of the non-volley zone, so hitting the line does not affect the legality of the shot.

9. Can I hit a ball that has hit the net and bounced into the kitchen?
Yes, you can hit a ball that has hit the net and bounced into the kitchen. The no volley rule only applies to shots made within the kitchen area, regardless of how the ball got there.

10. Can I enter the kitchen to hit a ball that has bounced out of it?
No, you cannot enter the kitchen to hit a ball that has bounced out of it. If the ball has bounced outside the kitchen, you must step outside the kitchen area before making contact.

11. Can I hit the ball after it bounces off an opponent’s paddle in the kitchen?
Yes, you can hit the ball after it bounces off an opponent’s paddle in the kitchen. The no volley rule only applies to shots made within the kitchen area.

See also  How Much Is Tom Brady Football Card Worth

12. Can I hit the ball after it bounces off the kitchen line?
Yes, you can hit the ball after it bounces off the kitchen line. The kitchen line is considered part of the non-volley zone, so hitting the line does not affect the legality of the shot.

13. Can I hit the ball after it bounces off the net and lands in the kitchen?
Yes, you can hit the ball after it bounces off the net and lands in the kitchen. The no volley rule only applies to shots made within the kitchen area, regardless of how the ball got there.

14. Can I hit the ball into the kitchen from a serve?
Yes, you can hit the ball into the kitchen from a serve. The no volley rule does not apply to the serve, allowing you to hit the ball into the kitchen immediately.

Understanding the kitchen line and the rules surrounding it is essential for any pickleball player. Adhering to these rules ensures fair play and creates an exciting and strategic game. So, the next time you step onto a pickleball court, remember the 7-foot distance between the kitchen line and the net and enjoy the game!

Scroll to Top