What Happens if the Ball Hits You in Pickleball

What Happens if the Ball Hits You in Pickleball?

Pickleball is a popular paddle sport that combines elements of tennis, badminton, and ping pong. Played with a paddle and a plastic ball on a court divided by a net, pickleball is a fun and engaging game for people of all ages. However, one common concern among beginners is what happens if the ball hits you during gameplay. In this article, we will explore this question and provide answers to 14 common questions related to getting hit by the ball in pickleball.

1. What happens if the ball hits you in pickleball?
If the ball hits you while you are within the boundaries of the court, it is considered a live ball and the play continues.

2. Is it legal to intentionally hit the ball with your body in pickleball?
No, intentionally using your body to hit the ball is not allowed in pickleball. You must use your paddle to return the ball.

3. What if the ball hits you outside the boundaries of the court?
If the ball hits you outside the boundaries of the court, it is considered out of bounds. The opposing team earns a point, and you lose the serve.

4. Can you catch the ball with your hands in pickleball?
No, catching the ball with your hands is not allowed in pickleball. You must use your paddle to return the ball.

5. What happens if the ball hits your clothing or equipment?
If the ball hits your clothing or equipment while within the boundaries of the court, it is still considered a live ball, and the play continues.

6. Can you use your body to shield yourself from the ball?
No, intentionally using your body to shield yourself from the ball is not allowed in pickleball. You must make an effort to return the ball with your paddle.

7. If the ball hits you, are you out of the game?
No, getting hit by the ball does not automatically eliminate you from the game. The play continues as long as the ball is within the boundaries of the court.

8. What if the ball hits you and then goes out of bounds?
If the ball hits you and then goes out of bounds, it is considered out, and the opposing team earns a point.

9. Can you use your paddle to block the ball if it’s going to hit you?
Yes, you can use your paddle to block the ball if it’s going to hit you. This is known as a defensive play, and it is allowed in pickleball.

10. What if the ball hits your partner?
If the ball hits your partner while within the boundaries of the court, it is still considered a live ball, and the play continues.

11. Can the ball hit you and then hit the net or the ground?
Yes, if the ball hits you and then hits the net or the ground within the boundaries of the court, the play continues as long as the ball remains in play.

12. What if the ball hits you and then hits the net and goes out of bounds?
If the ball hits you and then hits the net and goes out of bounds, it is considered out, and the opposing team earns a point.

13. Can you intentionally move into the path of the ball to get hit?
No, intentionally moving into the path of the ball to get hit is not allowed in pickleball. You must make an effort to return the ball with your paddle.

14. What if the ball hits you after it bounces?
If the ball hits you after it bounces, it is still considered a live ball, and the play continues as long as the ball remains in play.

In conclusion, if the ball hits you while playing pickleball, the play continues as long as the ball is within the boundaries of the court. You are not automatically out of the game, and you must use your paddle to return the ball. Intentionally using your body to shield yourself from the ball or catch the ball with your hands is not allowed. If the ball hits you and then goes out of bounds, the opposing team earns a point. Remember to play fair, follow the rules, and enjoy the game of pickleball!

Scroll to Top