Who Played in College Football Championship Last Year

Who Played in the College Football Championship Last Year?

The College Football Championship is an annual event that showcases the two best college football teams in the United States, battling it out for the prestigious national title. Last year’s championship featured the Alabama Crimson Tide and the Ohio State Buckeyes, two powerhouse programs with rich football traditions.

Alabama Crimson Tide:

The Alabama Crimson Tide is one of the most successful college football programs in history, known for their dominance and consistent success. Coached by Nick Saban, the Crimson Tide has won numerous national championships and produced many NFL stars. In the 2020-2021 season, Alabama finished with an impressive 13-0 record, securing their spot in the championship game.

Ohio State Buckeyes:

The Ohio State Buckeyes are also a storied football program, with a rich history of success. Coached by Ryan Day, the Buckeyes have consistently been among the top teams in the country. In the 2020-2021 season, Ohio State finished with a 7-1 record, earning their place in the championship game.

The Championship Game:

The College Football Championship game took place on January 11, 2021, at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida. The game was highly anticipated, as both Alabama and Ohio State had proven themselves as formidable opponents throughout the season.

See also  How Does a Soccer Game Start?

Alabama’s Dominance:

Alabama showcased their dominance from the start, scoring early and often against Ohio State’s defense. Led by their star quarterback Mac Jones and their Heisman Trophy-winning wide receiver DeVonta Smith, the Crimson Tide overwhelmed the Buckeyes with their explosive offense. Alabama’s defense also played a significant role in their victory, limiting Ohio State’s scoring opportunities.

Ohio State’s Efforts:

Despite being outmatched, Ohio State did not go down without a fight. Quarterback Justin Fields displayed his toughness and talent, throwing for over 200 yards and a touchdown. The Buckeyes’ running game, led by running back Trey Sermon, provided some spark, but it was not enough to overcome Alabama’s relentless attack.

The Final Score:

Ultimately, the Alabama Crimson Tide emerged victorious, defeating the Ohio State Buckeyes with a final score of 52-24. This marked Alabama’s seventh national championship under coach Nick Saban, solidifying their status as one of the greatest college football dynasties of all time.

See also  Can Cats Hiss When Playing


1. How many national championships has Alabama won?
Alabama has won a total of 18 national championships in their football history.

2. How many national championships has Ohio State won?
Ohio State has won a total of 8 national championships in their football history.

3. Who won the Heisman Trophy last year?
Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith won the Heisman Trophy in the 2020-2021 season.

4. How many touchdowns did Mac Jones throw in the championship game?
Mac Jones threw for 5 touchdowns in the championship game.

5. Who was the MVP of the championship game?
Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith was named the MVP of the championship game.

6. Did Ohio State lead at any point during the game?
No, Ohio State never led during the game.

7. How many total yards did Alabama gain in the game?
Alabama gained a total of 621 yards in the game.

8. How many total yards did Ohio State gain in the game?
Ohio State gained a total of 341 yards in the game.

9. Who scored the first touchdown of the game?
Alabama running back Najee Harris scored the first touchdown of the game.

See also  Where Did the Bulls Play Before the United Center

10. How many points did Alabama score in the first quarter?
Alabama scored 14 points in the first quarter.

11. How many points did Ohio State score in the fourth quarter?
Ohio State scored 10 points in the fourth quarter.

12. How many national championships has Nick Saban won?
Nick Saban has won a total of 7 national championships.

13. When and where will the next College Football Championship take place?
The next College Football Championship is scheduled to take place on January 10, 2022, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Clay the Author

  • Clay D

    Clay is a passionate writer and content creator, specializing in movies, games, and sports. With a knack for blending insightful analysis and humor, he captivates readers with his unique perspective on the entertainment industry. Beyond his expertise, Clay fearlessly delves into diverse topics, offering occasional rants that challenge conventional thinking. Through his engaging and thought-provoking writing, he invites readers to explore the world through his lens.

Scroll to Top